Governor’s Arts Awards Winners To Be Named March 24

Congratulations to the 66 individuals and organizations from 22 communities who have been nominated in six categories for the 34th annual Governor’s Arts Awards because of their substantial and outstanding contributions to arts and culture statewide.

Winners will be announced on Tuesday, March 24 at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, 340 North 3rd Street.

Sponsors for the 2015 event are: Presenting Sponsor, SRP; Nominees’ Sponsor, APS; Artist Award Sponsor, Arizona Lottery.

Since 1981, 166 artists, individuals, arts and cultural organizations, educators and businesses have received Governor’s Arts Awards

Nominees, by category, and their hometowns are:


Bobb Cooper, Phoenix
Navya Dasari, Scottsdale
William Eaton, Sedona
Barclay Goldsmith, Tucson
Peter Hill, Fountain Hills
Dr. Jeffry Jahn, Tucson
Greg Joseph, Sun City
Simon Kregar, Tucson
Annie Lopez, Phoenix
Mark McDowell, Scottsdale
Dr. Baruch Meir, Phoenix
Jenna Raskin Moreines, Phoenix
Randy Murray, Phoenix
Michelle Rouch, Vail
Eric Schoen, Phoenix

Arts in Education – Individual

Megan Dallas, Youngtown
Esmeralda DeLaney, Phoenix
Dr. Carole Drachler, Phoenix
Diane Fournier, Phoenix
Sharon Seder Meko, Mesa
Lee Anne Park, Scottsdale
Susan C. Ramos, Coolidge
Dr. Margaret E. Schmidt, Tempe
Jerry Schutte, Tempe
David Simmons, Peoria

Arts in Education – Organization

Arizona Broadway Theatre, Peoria
Arizona Thespians, Avondale
Arts Express, Tucson
Ballet Etudes, Gilbert
Childsplay’s EYEPlay Program, Tempe
Live Theatre Workshop, Tucson
Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix
Phoenix Children’s Chorus, Phoenix
Phoenix Conservatory of Music, Phoenix
Prescott College Art Gallery at Sam Hill Warehouse, Prescott
‘Tis Art Center & Gallery, Prescott
VSA Tucson, Tucson
WHAM Art Association, Surprise
Wickenburg Children’s Cultural Organization, Wickenburg


Arts Intersection, Gilbert
Copper Point Mutual, Phoenix
Crescent Crown Distributing, Mesa


Banner Alzheimer’s Institute, Phoenix
Flagstaff Arts Council, Flagstaff
Ghostlight Theater, Sun City West
Orchestra Northern Arizona, Flagstaff
Phoenix Center for the Arts, Phoenix
Potter’s Hand Productions, Sedona
Release the Fear, Phoenix
Safos Dance Theatre, Tucson
Theater Works / Peoria Center for the Performing Arts, Peoria
West Valley Art Council’s Gallery 37 Program, Surprise
West Valley Pops Band, Sun City
Young Arts Arizona Ltd., Phoenix


Bear Frazer, Phoenix
Laurie and Chuck Goldstein, Paradise Valley
Carmen Guerrero, Mesa
JA Jance, Tucson
Michael Kasser, Tucson
Robert Machiz, Scottsdale
Hope Ozer, Paradise Valley
Ben Sandoval, Mayer
Susan Silverman, Phoenix
Mollie Trivers, Phoenix
Dominique van de Stadt, Paradise Valley

The Governor’s Arts Awards are presented by Arizona Citizens for the Arts in partnership with the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply