Correction: Election Results 2013

Big changes in Cave Creek, Carefree maintains status quo – By Curtis Riggs

Former Carefree Planning and Zoning Commissioner Les Peterson secured a seat on the new Carefree Town Council by garnering 791 votes in the March 12 primary election. He will join Mayor David Schwan (825) and incumbent Town Councilmen John Crane (791), Melissa Price (708), Glenn Miller (650) and Marty Saltzman when the new Town Council is seated in June.

The March 12 primary election was much more exciting in Cave Creek as challenger Adam Trenk led all candidates by receiving 911 votes. Incumbent Councilman Ernie Bunch was also elected outright with 901 votes. Mayor Vincent Francia, who was running unopposed for mayor, was also elected. Council challengers Reg Montechino (864), Mike Durkin (863), Charlie Spitzer (863) and Eileen Wright (852) far outpaced incumbents on March 12, but will still have to run in the May 21 general election. Incumbent Tom McGuire will also be on the ballot. After results of the primary election were released, incumbent candidates Jim Bruce, Shelley Anderson and Dick Esser filed an official statement of withdrawal with Cave Creek Town Clerk Carrie Dyrek, and will not be on the ballot for the May 21 election.

PLEASE NOTE: This is a correction to the article that originally ran in our April print edition. Eileen Wright received 852 votes, rather than the 82 we previously reported.

Leave a Reply